Top 50 Gastro Pubs

How to Enter

The "Estrella Damm" Top 50 Gastropub Awards are voted for by our Top 50 Gastropubs Voting Academy. These include gastropub operators (who can't vote for their own pubs), food writers, pubco catering development managers and executive chefs, celebrity and top hospitality industry chefs, pub guide editors, industry chiefs and food operators. This really is the industry's choice.

Specialist categories

Alongside the opportunity to be immortalised as one of the country's best chefs on the prestigious top 50 gastropubs list for 2016, which is based on an in-depth industry poll of experts, there are also three exciting awards open for entry to all dining pubs.

The awards, which are now in their eighth year, are the leading event for the UK's food-led pubs. Getting involved in the awards can help you boost your pub's reputation, raise awareness of the quality of food you serve and help to increase footfall.

PMA editor Ed Bedington said:

"The Estrella Damm Top 50 Gastropubs is the list for those at the top of the pub-food game. "Getting on to the list is the ambition of many top chefs, and entering the awards that run alongside the list is a great way of getting recognition for your business, raising your profile within the industry, and among contemporaries and consumers, and is a great step towards getting on to that prestigious list."

The deadline for 2016 entries has now passed, click here to view this years finalists

Click on the individual links to view this years entry forms - Entry forms are best opened in Chrome or Internet Explorer, if you have any problems downloading this please contact Rachael Cannon on or call 01293 61039601293 610396

Business Innovation of the Year:  You and your pub may be making the most of one of the best innovation ideas in the industry, so why not get recognition for it? Last year's winner, the Richmond Arms in West Ashling, West Sussex, boosted trade by investing in an old Citroen H Van, from which wood-fired pizzas were sold. This initiative increased the pub's covers from 40 to 90 and capitalised on the growing demand for street food.

Front of House Manager of the Year : Does your pub have the best front-of-house manager in the business, then why not enter them into this award and give them the recognition they deserve? Winners of this category contribute to the success of their team, as well as delivering excellent customer service and inspiring the rest of the front-of-house team.

Newcomer of the Year:
This award recognises stand-out pubs that have been open for 18 months or fewer. Judges will look for details on investment in the business; successful food and drink promotions; strong marketing and PR; and any future development plans.

Judging Process 

Three pubs will be shortlisted in each category and then paper-judged by industry experts. The finalists' sites will be visited in late November/early December by judges who will see the business in action and sample the food and drink on offer. The award winners and the 2016 top 50 list will be announced at a lunch at Hermitage Road Bar and Restaurant, Hertfordshire, on 25 January 2016.

The awards also include Gastropub Chef of the Year, Highest Climber and Highest New Entry.

The winner of the Gastropub Chef of the Year is selected from all the head chefs working at the Top 50 Gastropub by a panel of industry experts.

The Highest Climber Award recognise the pub that has moved most significantly up the top 50 list in the past year.

The Highest New Entry Award is presented to the pub that has entered the Top 50 list in the highest position.

For more information on the awards please contact Rachael Cannon on or call: 01293 61039601293 610396


Tickets Available

Latest Tweets